McKerracher Re-Elected Hospital District Chair

The Kootenay East Regional Hospital District Board has elected its Chair and Vice Chair for the coming year.

Elkford Mayor Dean McKerracher has been elected Chair for this second term. “I am grateful to be able to continue on as Chair and thank my fellow Directors for their confidence in me,” says McKerracher. “2016 will be an exciting year, starting with the opening of the new ICU at the Kootenay East Regional Hospital, which this Board has been a supporter of from day one. I’m looking forward to its official opening and to continuing to build on the strong relationships we have as a Board and with Interior Health.”

Invermere Mayor Gerry Taft has been elected as Acting Chair. “I thank the Board of Directors for placing its trust in me and I look forward to working with Chair McKerracher and the entire Board for the coming year,” says Taft. This will be his first year as Acting Chair.

The Kootenay East Regional Hospital District provides up to 40 percent capital funding for acute care facilities in the region for equipment and facility construction and renovation.

The Hospital District extends beyond the boundaries of the RDEK to include the Towns of Golden and Creston, and the portions of the Regional Districts of Central Kootenay and Columbia Shuswap surrounding those municipalities.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.